LibGuides: Grade 8 Social Studies: Unit 1: Rights and Freedoms

Research Databases for LS Social Studies

Click here for AISGZ USERNAMES and PASSWORDS
You must be logged into your @aisgz.org account to access the above password document.

BrainPop This link opens in a new window Engaging learning games, animated movies, and activities. Designed with relevance, depth, and humor to encourage kids on their unique learning paths.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window Welcome to Britannica School, a safe, up-to-date, and age-appropriate information resource for Elementary, Middle, and High School. Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research and reinforce curriculum standards.
Classroom Video On Demand This link opens in a new window Classroom Video On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it possible to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Facts On File and Films Media Group into your classroom.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window CultureGrams® is a leading reference resource for reliable cultural information on the countries of the world.
Explora Secondary This link opens in a new window Explora is EBSCO’s research interface designed specifically for students and educators. The secondary school version features relevant and reliable content and easy-to-use functionality to help high school students successfully complete their research.
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window Created specifically for middle school students, Gale In Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Categories cover a range of the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and many more.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Infobase: History Research Center This link opens in a new window Infobase’s acclaimed history databases are designed to assist educators and students with their research needs. From this link search the following databases: American History, Ancient and Medieval History, and Modern World History
Kids Discover Online This link opens in a new window
World Book Online This link opens in a new window World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, educational games, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.

Youtube

Mr. Tyner's Playlist

Civil Disobedience

Civil Disobedience
From Britannica
Civil Disobedience
From World Book Student
Civil Rights Explainer
From BrainPop
Henry David Thoreau
From Britannica
Henry David Thoreau
From World Book Kids
Henry David Thoreau
From World Book Student
Martin Luther King Jr.
From Britannica
Martin Luther King Jr.
From World Book Kids
Martin Luther King Jr.
From World Book Student
Mahatma Gandhi (Mohandas is Gandhi's first name; Mahatma is a title)
From Britannica
Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi
From World Book Kids (Mohandas is Gandhi's first name; Mahatma is a title)
Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi
From World Book Student (Mohandas is Gandhi's first name; Mahatma is a title)

Confucianism

Confucius
From Britannica
Confucianism
From World Book Kids
Confucianism
From World Book Student
Who was Confucius?
From National Geographic
What is Confucianism?
From History Today Magazine online

Democracy

Declaration of Independence
From Britannica
Declaration of Independence
From World Book Kids
Declaration of Independence
From World Book Student
Democracy
From Britannica
Democracy
From World Book Kids
Democracy
From World Book Student
Thomas Jefferson
From Britannica
Thomas Jefferson
From World Book Kids
Thomas Jefferson
From World Book Student

Liberalism

John Locke
From Britannica
John Locke
From World Book Student
John Locke
From World Book Kids
Liberalism
From Britannica
Liberalism
From World Book Student

Legalism

Legalism
From Britannica
Legalism
From World Book Student
Legalism
From World History Encyclopedia
Shihuangdi
From Britannica
Shi Huangdi
From World Book Kids
Shi Huangdi
From World Book Student

Useful Websites

The Bill of Rights
From the National Archives. What is the Bill of Rights and what does it say?
Cultural Relativism
From Khan Academy. Can rights be universal or should they be influenced by culture.
Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights as Human Rights: Historical Background
From the University of Minnesota.
The English Bill of Rights
From History.com
The Magna Carta
What is the Magna Carta?
Seneca Falls Convention
From History.com
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights
From the United Nations, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) is a milestone document in the history of human rights.
What are Human Rights?
From the United Nations Human Rights Office of the High Commissioner.

NoodleTools Log In Here

. NoodleTools
Sign in with your school MS365 account.

NoodleTools Help Desk HERE

Different Reading Levels

Visit these sites below to find news articles written at different reading levels. It's great for personalizing your learning.

CommonLit
While these articles aren't adjustable, you can see the lexile levels of each article and choose the right article for you.
The Day
The Day is a daily online newspaper for primary and secondary schools in the United Kingdom and internationally which links news stories to national curriculums and encourages pupils to debate and engage with the wider world.
Newsela
Get the class code from your teacher. This websites has lots of news articles which can be read a different reading levels.
Smithsonian Tween Tribute
News articles offered at adjustable reading levels.

Kids Discover Online This link opens in a new window

Kid Friendly Search Engines

Sometimes the internet gives us websites that aren't a great fit for our needs. Try these kid-friendly search engines to find sites that may be a better fit.

Books in the SP Library

Rights of Man and Common Sense by Thomas Paine; Michael Foot (Introduction by)
Call Number: 320.5 PAI
ISBN: 0679433147
Publication Date: 1994-10-04
These two pamphlets are recognized as classic arguments in defense of the individuals's right to assert their freedom in the face of tyranny.
Human and Civil Rights by K. Lee Lerner; Brenda Wilmoth Lerner
Call Number: 323 HUM
ISBN: 9781414403267
Publication Date: 2006-09-22
Presents approximately 150 primary source documents, such as speeches, legislation, memoirs, newspaper articles, and interviews, related to human and civil rights between the nineteenth and twenty-first centuries.
With Courage and Cloth by Ann Bausum
Call Number: 324.6 BAU
ISBN: 0792269969
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Chronicles the long history of the fight for women's voting rights, beginning in 1848, with a focus on the years between 1913 and 1920 when the Nineteenth Amendment was passed, and includes profiles of notable women in the struggle.
Turning 15 on the Road to Freedom by Lynda Blackmon Lowery; P. J. Loughran (Illustrator); Elspeth Leacock (As told to); Susan Buckley (As told to)
Call Number: 921 LOW
ISBN: 9780803741232
Publication Date: 2015-01-08
Lynda Blackmon Lowery recounts her experiences as the youngest marcher on the 1965 voting rights march from Selma to Montgomery, Alabama.