LibGuides: Grade 8 Social Studies: Unit 2: Misrepresentation in the Media

Definitions

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

Representation:

"Representation is how media texts deal with and present gender, age, ethnicity, national and regional identity, social issues and events to an audience. Media texts have the power to shape an audience’s knowledge and understanding about these important topics. This makes them very powerful in terms of influencing ideas and attitudes"

Source: “What Is Representation?” BBC Bitesize, www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/guides/z9fx39q/revision/1. Accessed 27 Sept. 2021.

Misrepresentation:

1: to give a false or misleading representation of usually with an intent to deceive or be unfair

2: to serve badly or improperly as a representative of

Source: “Misrepresent.” The Merriam-Webster.Com Dictionary, www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/misrepresent. Accessed 27 Sept. 2021.

Media Bias:

Those employed in media control the type of stories that are broadcast, printed, or posted online. Journalists and reporters have a responsibility to present their stories with facts and the evidence to support them. If opinions are given, it must be clear that the information is an opinion and not fact. Although the general public expects the media to be fair, bias—either intentional or unintentional—often affects what information is chosen to be reported and how the information is reported. Examples of bias in stories include omitted viewpoints, catering to advertisers, and support for a certain political view.

Source: "Media." Britannica School, Encyclopædia Britannica, 14 Nov. 2014. school.eb.com/levels/middle/article/media/607107. Accessed 27 Sep. 2021.

Research Databases for LS Social Studies

Click here for AISGZ USERNAMES and PASSWORDS
You must be logged into your @aisgz.org account to access the above password document.

BrainPop This link opens in a new window Engaging learning games, animated movies, and activities. Designed with relevance, depth, and humor to encourage kids on their unique learning paths.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window Welcome to Britannica School, a safe, up-to-date, and age-appropriate information resource for Elementary, Middle, and High School. Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research and reinforce curriculum standards.
Classroom Video On Demand This link opens in a new window Classroom Video On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it possible to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Facts On File and Films Media Group into your classroom.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window CultureGrams® is a leading reference resource for reliable cultural information on the countries of the world.
Explora Secondary This link opens in a new window Explora is EBSCO’s research interface designed specifically for students and educators. The secondary school version features relevant and reliable content and easy-to-use functionality to help high school students successfully complete their research.
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window Created specifically for middle school students, Gale In Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Categories cover a range of the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and many more.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Infobase: History Research Center This link opens in a new window Infobase’s acclaimed history databases are designed to assist educators and students with their research needs. From this link search the following databases: American History, Ancient and Medieval History, and Modern World History
Kids Discover Online This link opens in a new window
World Book Online This link opens in a new window World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, educational games, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.

Useful Websites

Effects of Racism
From Britannica
Media
From Britannica
Media Issues
See a list of various topics related to media: body image, gender representation, diversity, intellectual property, marketing and communication, and violence.
Media Literacy
From BrainPop. Television, print media, the Internet… all are filled with advertising, opinions, and other hidden persuasions. In this BrainPOP movie, Tim and Moby teach you how to be a more astute
How to Detect Bias in the News
From Fair.org. This article provides some important questions about how to identify and protect yourself from bias.

Examples of bias and misrepresentation

Christy Turlington, Julia Roberts ads banned in UK for excessive airbrushing
From CBS News
King fu-themed children's book vanked over racial stereotypes
Do you like Dav Pilkey and the Captain Underpants series? Even our favorite authors can make mistakes.
What Exactly is Media Representation Anyway?
From the Arab Film and Media Institute

Videos

Investigate a Web Source in Four Moves

STOP - before you click it, read it, share it, or react, just stop. Ask yourself "Do I know this website?" "Does it have a good reputation?" If you're not sure, move on to the next steps.

INVESTIGATE THE SOURCE - do an internet search on the domain you just found. Look it up in Wikipedia. Read about the source. Are they legit? Are they biased? Do they have an agenda? Was that video on the benefits of milk consumption put out by the dairy industry? You need to know the answers to these questions before you consume the content. Can't find anything about the site? Don't read it.

FIND BETTER COVERAGE - don't just go to the websites that found you. Look for trusted reporting. Look for experts in the field. Ask a librarian or a teacher for advice or trusted sources.

TRACE CLAIMS TO ORIGINAL CONTEXT - if a website quotes another article or website, find the original quote or claim or article. Are you watching the complete video? Are you seeing the entire photo?

From Mike Caulfield

NoodleTools Log In Here

. NoodleTools
Sign in with your school MS365 account.

NoodleTools Help Desk HERE

In the Library

Accuracy in Media by Megan Fromm
Call Number: 170 FRO
ISBN: 9781477780701
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Explores what it takes to be a professional journalist that is trusted for accuracy in reporting, and examines how to spot reputable news sites.
Media Bias by Tom Streissguth; Marilyn Wood
Call Number: 302.23 STR
ISBN: 076142296X
Publication Date: 2007-01-15
Explores the controversy over media bias, discussing the history of the American media, events that have shaped the issue, and each side of the debate.

5 Key Questions

Want to change your relationship with media? Ask yourself these 5 key questions created by the Center for Media Literacy:

Who created this message?
What creative techniques are used to attract my attention?
How might different people understand this message differently?
What values, lifestyles and points of view are represented in, or omitted from, this message?
Why is this message being sent?

Source: Share, Jeff, et al. “Five Key Questions That Can Change the World.” Center for Media Literacy, 2007, www.medialit.org/sites/default/files/5KQ%20ClassroomGuide_1.pdf.

5 Core Concepts

The Center for Media Literacy's 5 Core Concepts about Media:

All media messages are ‘constructed.’
Media messages are constructed using a creative language with its own rules.
Different people experience the same media message differently.
Media have embedded values and points of view.
Most media messages are organized to gain profit and/or power.

Source: Share, Jeff, et al. “Five Key Questions That Can Change the World.” Center for Media Literacy, 2007, www.medialit.org/sites/default/files/5KQ%20ClassroomGuide_1.pdf.