LibGuides: Grade 9 Social Studies: Year End Project

Research Databases for HS History

Click here for AISGZ USERNAMES and PASSWORDS
You must be logged into your @aisgz.org account to access the above password document.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window Welcome to Britannica School, a safe, up-to-date, and age-appropriate information resource for Elementary, Middle, and High School. Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research and reinforce curriculum standards.
Classroom Video On Demand This link opens in a new window Classroom Video On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it possible to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Facts On File and Films Media Group into your classroom.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window CultureGrams® is a leading reference resource for reliable cultural information on the countries of the world.
Ebscohost This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost is an intuitive online research platform used by thousands of institutions and millions of users worldwide. With quality databases and search features, EBSCOhost helps researchers of all kinds find the information they need fast.
Users outside of China please use this link: http://search.ebscohost.com/
Global Issues This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Global Issues supports awareness and provides perspective on global issues, while tying together a wealth of authoritative content: empowering learners to critically analyse and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window Created specifically for middle school students, Gale In Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Categories cover a range of the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and many more.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Infobase: History Research Center This link opens in a new window Infobase’s acclaimed history databases are designed to assist educators and students with their research needs. From this link search the following databases: American History, Ancient and Medieval History, and Modern World History
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Oxford Art This link opens in a new window The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Includes over 200,000 articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as over 19,000 images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.
World Book Online This link opens in a new window World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, educational games, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.

Developing a Research Question

Inquiry Process

Use these steps to help plan your tasks and set goals:

Brainstorming Ideas

STEP 1:

STEP 2:

STEP 3:

Images from L Karnas at USC Upstate

Narrowing Your Topic

From L Karas from USC Upstate

Search the Science Park Destiny Catalog .

Or click here to visit the Destiny Homepage

Topic Ideas

The 17 Goals
Official website from the UN
Browse Global Issues
From Gale Global Issues database
Procon.org
Founded ProCon.org in 2004 with the following mission: to promote critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting the pro and con arguments to controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, freely accessible way.
Pew Research Topics
Research topics from Pew Research Center which is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.

Picking a topic

Image from: Develop a Topic by LKaras at USC Upstate

Mapping your Research Idea

Search Strategies

Use some of these advanced search strategies when on the internet to make your search more precise, relevant, and effective.

search for a exact phrase by enclosing the phrase in quotation marks:

"phrase searching"

force the retrieval of certain words by using boolean operators:

AND OR NOT

subtract a word from your search by using the minus sign

-wiki

search for synonyms by using the tilde key

~music

use two periods to search within a number range

1980..2000

search within a site using a colon and the word site

"golden retriever" site:akc.org

search for a particular location

"global warming" location:guangzhou

search for a file type

"elon musk" filetype:pdf

search for a site with a particular word it its name

sites:kid

NoodleTools Log In Here

. NoodleTools
Sign in with your school MS365 account.

NoodleTools Help Desk HERE