LibGuides: Grade 7 Social Studies: Migration Deliberation

Research Databases

Click here for AISGZ USERNAMES and PASSWORDS
You must be logged into your @aisgz.org account to access the above password document.

BrainPop This link opens in a new window Engaging learning games, animated movies, and activities. Designed with relevance, depth, and humor to encourage kids on their unique learning paths.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window Welcome to Britannica School, a safe, up-to-date, and age-appropriate information resource for Elementary, Middle, and High School. Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research and reinforce curriculum standards.
Classroom Video On Demand This link opens in a new window Classroom Video On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it possible to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Facts On File and Films Media Group into your classroom.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window CultureGrams® is a leading reference resource for reliable cultural information on the countries of the world.
Explora Secondary This link opens in a new window Explora is EBSCO’s research interface designed specifically for students and educators. The secondary school version features relevant and reliable content and easy-to-use functionality to help high school students successfully complete their research.
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window Created specifically for middle school students, Gale In Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Categories cover a range of the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and many more.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Infobase: History Research Center This link opens in a new window Infobase’s acclaimed history databases are designed to assist educators and students with their research needs. From this link search the following databases: American History, Ancient and Medieval History, and Modern World History
Kids Discover Online This link opens in a new window
World Book Online This link opens in a new window World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, educational games, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.

Topics on Migration

Topics – Below is a list of possible topics. Note: you may not use the topic you already presented on in the earlier group project.

Mexico to the U.S. in the 21^st century
Afghani migration during the 1980 and beyond
Vietnamese people in the 1960s and 1970s
Bangladesh to India after 1949.
Syria to Europe after 2011.
Eastern European Jews to the U.S. in the early 20^th century
Libya to Europe after 2011.
China to Hong Kong after 1950s.
Ireland to the U.S. and Canada in the 19^th century
California Gold Rush in the US during the 19^th century
Rural-urban migration in China after 1980s
Own topic – check with teacher: ____________________

Definitions

Human Migration from Britannica
Hispanic Americans
Helpful information about migrating populations.
Immigration to Australia
Helpful information about migrating populations.
Asian Americans
Helpful information about migrating populations.
Europe
Helpful information about migrating populations.

Example articles from databases

The Chinese Exclusion Act, limiting Chinese immigration, was passed in 1882.
On May 6, 1882, U.S. President Chester A. Arthur signed a federal law called the Chinese Exclusion Act. The word "exclusion" means the act of preventing certain people from entering a place or territory. This law was controversial in its time, as it set up a new kind of legal discrimination in America. Let's learn more about the law and the circumstances behind it.
Should the U.S. Admit More Refugees? From NYTimes
In 2019, the United States admitted 30,000 refugees as part of its program to aid people fleeing war or persecution in their home countries. That's the smallest number of refugees resettled in the U.S. since 1977. This year, the Trump administration plans to reduce the number of refugees allowed to 18,000. Experts disagree about whether the U.S. should admit more refugees. A representative of a group that resettles refugees faces off against someone from an organization that favors less immigration of all kinds.
Crime, Politics Causing Many To Leave South Africa from Morning Edition Magazine
Examines the exodus from South Africa. We've known for years that some white South Africans are leaving. They were forced to give up political power. What is surprising is that South Africans of all races are leaving their country. They seek their fortunes in places like Britain, Australia, or Dubai. Many say they are scared away from their home by crime. NPR's Gwen Thompkins reports.

NoodleTools Log In Here

. NoodleTools
Sign in with your school MS365 account.

NoodleTools Help Desk HERE

Data Resources

International Migration Trends in the Western Hemisphere July 15, 2022
A report from the Congressional Research Service. Contains facts and figures.
New Population Estimates Show COVID-19 Pandemic Significantly Disrupted Migration Across Borders
A report from the US Census. Net international migration (NIM) added 247,000 to the nation's population between 2020 and 2021, according to U.S. Census Bureau July 1, 2021 population estimates.
U.S. BUREAU OF POPULATION, REFUGEES, AND MIGRATION International Migration Statement
PRM’s Office of International Migration (PIM) works to promote well-managed, legal forms of immigration through bilateral and multilateral diplomacy and targeted capacity-building programs.
The Future of Migration, Global Trends 2040
International migration probably will increase during the next decades because migration drivers, including economic pressures, changing age structures, population growth, rapid urbanization, and environmental stress, are likely to persist and intensify. Destination countries that can manage the social and political tension caused by immigration probably will reap economic benefits that outweigh the fiscal costs of new migrants. Origin countries are likely to experience mixed results from more emigration, including critical skill gaps, decreases in unemployment, and improving education levels.

Grade 7 Social Studies: Migration Deliberation