LibGuides: Grade 6 Science: Ecology

Research Databases for LS Science

Click here for AISGZ USERNAMES and PASSWORDS
You must be logged into your @aisgz.org account to access the above password document.

BrainPop This link opens in a new window
Engaging learning games, animated movies, and activities. Designed with relevance, depth, and humor to encourage kids on their unique learning paths.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Welcome to Britannica School, a safe, up-to-date, and age-appropriate information resource for Elementary, Middle, and High School. Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research and reinforce curriculum standards.
Explora Secondary This link opens in a new window Explora is EBSCO’s research interface designed specifically for students and educators. The secondary school version features relevant and reliable content and easy-to-use functionality to help high school students successfully complete their research.
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Created specifically for middle school students, Gale In Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Categories cover a range of the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and many more.
Infobase: Science Online This link opens in a new window Science Online offers a comprehensive overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines. Topic Centers feature specially selected content on core science disciplines to help students find a starting point for their research.
Infobase: Today's Science This link opens in a new window
Today's Science bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today. Updated weekly and containing thousands of links to a 25-year back-file, Today's Science explains important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology. Students are provided with information in context, clearly explained and abundantly illustrated, so they can see new advances not as inexplicable wonders, but as resulting from the application of the same concepts and principles of investigation (the scientific method) that they are learning about in simpler form in the classroom.
Kids Discover Online This link opens in a new window
PowerKnowledge: Earth & Space Science This link opens in a new window PowerKnowledge Earth & Space Science is a content-driven, visually stimulating, and media-rich online science resource specifically designed for learners in grades 3 to 6.
PowerKnowledge: Life Sciences This link opens in a new window PowerKnowledge Life Science is a content-driven, visually stimulating, and media-rich online science resource specifically designed for learners in grades 3 to 6.
PowerKnowledge: Physical Science This link opens in a new window PowerKnowledge Physical Science is a content-driven, visually stimulating, and media-rich online science resource specifically designed for learners in grades 3 to 6.
Teen Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window Teen Health & Wellness provides middle and high school students with nonjudgmental, straightforward, curricular and self-help support, aligned to state, national, and provincial standards. Topics include diseases, drugs and alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide and bullying, green living, LGBTQ issues, and more.
World Book Online This link opens in a new window World Book Online is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, educational games, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.

Useful Websites

Disruptions to Ecosystems
Descriptions of various events that happen to disrupt an ecosystem.
Earth System: Matter and Energy Cycles
From My NASA data.com. Images, videos, and text describing different Earth systems and cycles.
Ecology and Ecosystems
A series of classroom videos from Science Online. All videos come with transcripts that you can follow as you watch.
Ecology Vocabulary
Try this Quizlet to practice 46 ecology terms
Energy Pyramid
An explanation of how an energy pyramid is constructed from Britannica. Links to other resources.
Energy Pyramid
An example of an energy pyramid describing how energy is lost between plant eaters and meat eaters.
Food Webs
From National Geographic. An article describing different food webs. You can click and read at different reading levels.
Habitats and Ecosystems
From PowerKnowledge. A password may be required. See the link in the "Research Databases" box. A series of articles written for students about habitats, biomes, food chains, and food webs.
Invasive Species
From the National Wildlife Federation. A definition of invasive species as well as an explanation of their impact with examples
Science news related to Ecology
From Facts on File. News articles related to ecology, threats to diversity, and climate change.
Ten of the World’s Most Invasive Species
From Earth Rangers. Describes introduced species and the effect they've had on their new environment.
Threats to Biodiversity
From WWF. Describes different threats to species around the world.
World Biomes
From NCEAS. A description of different biomes and links to games and other resources.

Useful Videos

Create Graphics and Diagrams

Canva Graphs
Free graph maker
Canva Infographics
Free infographic maker
Create a Graph
From NCES.gov
Piktochart
Create inspiring infographics

Books in the SP Library

The Basics of Ecology by Anne Wanjie (Editor)
ISBN: 1477705511

Publication Date: 2013-07-15

Text and photographs look at ecology, focusing on climate, ecosystems, conservation, and other topics.
Amazon Adventure by Sy Montgomery; Keith Ellenbogen (By (photographer))
ISBN: 9781328694980

Publication Date: 2017-07-04

EBOOK. Click the link to open. Sign in with your @aisgz account information. Part science, part carnival--this winding adventure down the Amazon River ... explores how tiny fish, called piabas, can help preserve not only the rainforest and it's often misunderstood inhabitants, but the fate of our entire environment
Can Your Outfit Change the World? by Erinne Paisley
ISBN: 9781459813069

Publication Date: 2018-02-20

Looks at how and where clothes are made, how the people who make the clothes are treated and how the companies who sell the clothes affect the health of our planet. Armed with information, you can follow the book's guide to spending your fashion dollars in a responsible and eco-friendly way
Taking Action to Help the Environment by Rebecca Sjonger
ISBN: 9780778766605

Publication Date: 2019-09-30

This . . . book examines ways to meet the challenges facing Earth's environment--one of the United Nation's sustainable development goals. From tackling ocean pollution to slowing climate change, readers will gain an understanding of how all the UN goals work together, and learn concrete strategies to inspire change. Profiles of youth-led movements and other collaborative efforts to help the environment will empower readers to get involved to restore and protect the health of environments

Grade 6 Science: Ecology

Introduction

Research Databases for LS Science

Useful Websites

Useful Videos

Create Graphics and Diagrams

Books in the SP Library